- The Adventures of SEO Boy® - http://www.seoboy.com -

Google Improves Map Overlay Reports for International Locations

Posted By Sarah On June 17, 2011 @ 3:05 pm In News Update | No Comments

Google announced [1] that, as of this week, you can view regional information on map overlays in Analytics for countries outside of the U.S. Previously, the U.S. was the only country that would allow you to drill down by state, and then city, but now you can see region level maps for over 170 countries. In addition, if you’re on the cities view in Maps Overlay, you’ll now see a magnifying glass that appears when cities are clustered together, making it easier to click on the intended location for more detailed information.

With the new regional information, here’s a map of Canada for one of my accounts:

[2]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Obviously the extension of regional map data is a huge bonus for AdWords’ customers outside of the U.S., but also for those of us in the U.S. running international campaigns. This enhancement will also go a long way in understanding a site’s appeal abroad, especially for countries we might have little regional knowledge of otherwise. With increased regional knowledge you’ll be able to ramp up a site’s international SEO efforts most effectively (and maybe learn a little geography in the process).

If you log into Analytics and you’re not seeing these map enhancements, make sure you’re using Google’s new Analytics interface. You’ll see a link to make the switch in your Analytics account in the right hand corner of your screen:

[3]

 

 

 

 

You can read Google’s announcement about this enhancement on the AdWords Blog here: Improvements in Map Overlay Reports [1].

Thanks for reading and stay tuned for more news updates from SEO Boy [4]!

 

Sarah is an Account Executive at Hanapin Marketing [5], a search engine marketing firm focused on generating results through PPC and SEO.


Article printed from The Adventures of SEO Boy®: http://www.seoboy.com

URL to article: http://www.seoboy.com/google-improves-map-overlay-reports-for-international-locations/

URLs in this post:

[1] announced: http://analytics.blogspot.com/2011/06/new-google-analytics-improvements-in.html

[2] Image: http://www.seoboy.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Screen-shot-2011-06-17-at-3.02.29-PM.png

[3] Image: http://www.seoboy.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Screen-shot-2011-06-17-at-2.37.22-PM.png

[4] SEO Boy: http://www.seoboy.com/

[5] Hanapin Marketing: http://www.hanapinmarketing.com/

[6] 5 Updates To Google Analytics Custom Reports: http://www.seoboy.com/5-updates-to-google-analytics-custom-reports/

[7] Creating Custom Reports in Google Analytics: http://www.seoboy.com/creating-custom-seo-reports-in-google-analytics/

[8] 3 Stats Reports I Use Often From Google Webmaster Tools: http://www.seoboy.com/3-stats-reports-i-use-often-from-google-webmaster-tools/

[9] News Update: Google Announces Interior Business Photos on Google Maps: http://www.seoboy.com/news-update-google-announces-interior-business-photos-on-google-maps/

[10] Webmaster Tools Data Now Available in Google Analytics Pilot: http://www.seoboy.com/webmaster-tools-data-now-available-in-google-analytics-pilot/

Copyright © 2008 The Adventures of SEO Boy. All rights reserved.