- The Adventures of SEO Boy® - http://www.seoboy.com -

News Update: Another Third-Tier Search Engine Bites the Dust

Posted By Sarah On April 6, 2011 @ 3:32 pm In News Update | No Comments

As Rob Young announced in his post on Search Engine Journal, “AlltheWeb Closes Its Doors [1],” yesterday was the last day for Yahoo’s search site AlltheWeb. This is another step for Yahoo in completely moving away from search services, but also marks the closing of another third-tier search engine. While no one search engine seems to be able to gain significant ground against Google in terms of traffic and visibility, there are still many other third-tier options to gain some additional traffic, like 7Search.com, Business.com, and Looksmart.com to name a few.

As Bryan points out in his post “Is Quora a Contender Against Google [2],” there really is no “killing” Google, and considering Google’s success I don’t think this is necessarily a bad thing. But, what I do think you can gain from smaller search engines is a unique way to interact with your site visitors, as evidenced in Quora, as well as the ability to reach a niche group of people who may trend toward other small search engines.

So, while it’s sad to see a site as long running as AlltheWeb close its doors, I don’t think smaller search engines will ever completely die out. I just think they will have to be more creative in their conception and interaction, not to rival the bigger players, but to offer something totally unique.

We’d love to hear from any former AlltheWeb users. How does the site’s closing affect your search engine habits and/or SEO efforts? Leave us a comment below!

Sarah is an Account Executive at Hanapin Marketing [3], a search engine marketing firm focused on generating results through PPC and SEO.


Article printed from The Adventures of SEO Boy®: http://www.seoboy.com

URL to article: http://www.seoboy.com/another-third-tier-search-engine-bites-the-dust/

URLs in this post:

[1] AlltheWeb Closes Its Doors: http://www.searchenginejournal.com/alltheweb-search-closes-its-doors/29029/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+SearchEngineJournal+%28Search+Engine+Journal%29&utm_content=Google+Reader

[2] Is Quora a Contender Against Google: http://www.seoboy.com/is-quora-a-contender-against-google/

[3] Hanapin Marketing: http://www.hanapinmarketing.com/

[4] Which Search Engine Should You Optimize for?: http://www.seoboy.com/which-search-engine-should-you-optimize-for/

[5] News Update: It May Be Google’s World, but Yandex is MORE than Living In It!: http://www.seoboy.com/news-update-it-may-be-google%e2%80%99s-world-but-yandex-is-more-than-living-in-it/

[6] Search Engine Optimization Check List: http://www.seoboy.com/search-engine-optimization-check-list/

[7] 50 Search Engine Optimization Definitions Every Advertiser Should Know: A SEO Terminology Glossary: http://www.seoboy.com/a-seo-terminology-glossary/

[8] We’re Looking for Search Engine Marketing (SEO + PPC) Specialists: http://www.seoboy.com/were-looking-for-search-engine-marketing-seo-ppc-specialists/

Copyright © 2008 The Adventures of SEO Boy. All rights reserved.